SingleParentMeet
28 Ratings 1.43 / 5
Cost
Ease Of Use
Effectiveness
Members
Quick Facts
Cost 1 Month $14.99
Very cheap
Popularity 77,000 active users
Low
Gender make-up Men/women equal
(1 to 1)       
No gender bias

Single Parent Meet is a dating and social network for lone parents. The site has around 77,000 active users. Members have access to email, live chat, photo browsing, and photo rating. Sending messages requires upgrading to a paid membership, which starts at $14.99 for 1 month.

Whether legally separated, divorced or widowed, men and women can join for free and start browsing profiles either locally or on an international scale. SingleParentMeet isn't exclusive to those with children however most on the site do have kids.

It is run by a company called PeopleMedia - they operate a number of niche dating services and are owned by Match.com.

Getting Started

Signing-up is extremely simple. Just choose a username, and answer the questions when prompted. At the end, you will have an opportunity to enter your own "about me" section and provide some details about who you are hoping to meet.

If you choose, you can also tell others about your marital arrangement and whether or not you have children living with you.

Membership Levels

Guest accounts (which are free) don't offer much in the way of privileges. Truthfully, they only allow you to set up a profile and take a peek within the site. Whenever you attempt to contact someone through email, or instant messaging you will be diverted to the upgrade page.

Email and chat privileges can be obtained by upgrading the membership with a monthly, quarterly or annual subscription. In addition, paying members are able to find out who's added them to their favorites list, see their flirt history, view video introductions and use Zodiac matching.

An enhanced membership is available for an extra charge. People who've purchased enhanced memberships have their profiles highlighted in searches - something the site claims increases their chances of getting noticed.

In Summary...

SingleParentMeet is a good place for those with kids to meet for platonic or romantic partnerships and a is possible option for those who are toying with the idea of getting back into the dating world.

The site routinely offers discounts for monthly subscriptions.

By Tara Miller

The good

  • SingleParentMeet has an active community that's significantly larger that other parent dating sites
  • It's quite cheap - handy for those on a budget

The bad

  • Persistent complaints about the company's auto-renewals
  • Guest users have very limited access
  • Profiles are not aggressively moderated which means "scammers" can get through
Rating from 28 customers

5 Star: (2)

4 Star: (1)

3 Star: (0)

2 Star: (1)

1 Star: (24)

Total 28 Ratings
0 Reviews
28 Comments
Rss Feeds. Subscribe to comments for this site. [?] Receive updates about Singleparentmeet.com directly through your newsreader.
  • Avatar

    ChristineNickelDelponteApril 21st, 2012

    Useless

    I dodged a bullet on this one, they only provided matches for me when they asked that I join their monthly pay program. I wasted time on that site and gave them my personal information, these people are con artist....
  • Avatar

    SpizziMarch 2nd, 2012

    Above average

    I have never joined a site like this but was tempted by an offer for a free 3 day trial. It was all BS... Just want $$.
  • Avatar

    g_4915February 24th, 2012

    Useless

    Waste of money. Company requires auto renewal and will not refund you completely when you cancel.


  • Avatar

    g_4915February 24th, 2012

    Useless

    Nothing but a bunch of people "flirting". Also, requires auto renewal and they do not provide a complete refund if you cancel subscription. Poor customer service!
  • Avatar

    AnshiraDecember 9th, 2011

    Useless

    I was contacted by a Black male with numerous profiles -Goodfella - he has also a numerous aliases -Loyd, Michael, Floyd, Mark. He claimed to be single, then divorced with a sad story. His pics were when he was in his 20's when he is close to 50. He is looking for defenseless women, mostly with kids and good credit. He's abusive, very smart in scams and gets money from girls and their credit cards. He's charming and says and do whatever he needs..Beware girls!! I'm new to USA and he told me he will help me to establish myself but all he did was to use me!
  • Avatar

    DeniseAugust 19th, 2011

    Useless

    I agree with every single review that highlights the negative aspects of Single Parent.com. My story is quite painful and I do not have the energy to express my true story. I will just say that emotional rape is the modus operandi of this site. In fact, ladies...watch out for a true scammer named [****]. All of his information does check out; I even paid for a background check on him. All my efforts indicated that he was a credible, hardworking father who seemed like an ideal match. Well...watch out for the ones who have seemingly legitimate credentials but just "get off" on playing with the emotions of women. Oh...we exchanged the typical "love" vows via text messaging, telephone conversations and emails. Well... this man is a criminal of another sort. Real person with a criminal mind. He lives in Toronto, Canada.
  • Avatar

    RussAugust 19th, 2011

    Useless

    This place is just a waste of money and total rip off. Whole bunch of scammers and fake profiles. The operators barely speak English and aren't helpful.

    When you sign up for 14 dollars per month in reality they charge you 19 dollars, but it is a hidden fee and is not mentioned anywhere. Don't sign up! I called them and after waiting at least 10 minutes managed to talk to some guy from India who barely spoke English. Of course he said he can't reimburse my money after their rip off. Do not use their service or give them your card account. I had to cancel mine after i signed up for them so that they don't have access to it!
  • Avatar

    ShirleyHemphillAugust 9th, 2011

    Useless

    This site is a total scam. 2/3 of the men on it are not single parents, or parents at all. They are looking to meet vulnerable women (I guess they think single moms are easy targets) or worse, they are looking for young children. Do not sign up. I have shared my concerns with the site but the only emails are get back are about upgrading my membership.
  • Avatar

    Linda_3354February 10th, 2011

    Useless

    Hey Krunchy-It was scorpiolove45 total loser said the same to me tried to scam me but I turned the tables on him reported him to the authorities here in Canada...Me too just a Bullshitter trying to take advantage of woman...he took himself off the site mysteriously when I told him I reported him. Had the nerve to call me a liar when he is the one trying to scam woman. Same story here he was in Africa building bridges his kids were starving and he needed money. I will feed my kids before I will feed his.
  • Avatar

    MicheleFlanneryJanuary 30th, 2011

    Useless

    I also wanted to include the fact that i find it very curious that every person who has asked me to write them back is using Yahoo for their IM or e-mail address. I don't use yahoo and other people i know don't always use yahoo, so again I have to wonder if the site has a special yahoo address and mailboxes that they use to hire people to answer their letters. Just throwing that out there to think about.
SingleParentMeet 1.43 28 A review of SingleParentMeet. Single Parent Meet is a dating and social network for lone parents. The site has around 77,000 active users. Members have access to email, live chat, photo browsing, and photo rating.