close
t SeniorPeopleMeet
139 Ratings 1.73 / 5
Cost
Ease Of Use
Effectiveness
Members
Quick Facts
Cost 1 Month $14.99
Very cheap
Popularity 481,000 active users
Popular
Gender make-up More women
(2 to 1)       
Better for men
Rating from 139 customers

5 Star: (15)

4 Star: (4)

3 Star: (9)

2 Star: (13)

1 Star: (97)

Total 139 Ratings
2 Reviews
137 Comments
Rss Feeds. Subscribe to comments for this site. [?] Receive updates about Seniorpeoplemeet.com directly through your newsreader.
  • Avatar

    DebbieMApril 20th, 2011

    Useless

    Out of 14 5 star comments, 9 are from Lisa (an employee of the site). This sure cuts down on the possitive rating ratio. Why are they even allowed to rate this site if they are employees. And why is there no 0 rating?
  • Avatar

    DebbieMApril 19th, 2011

    Useless

    What a sham. I got past the scammers because I learned to spot them pretty quickly from Match.com. I hit the report a concern button and reported two of them. Never got a response. I cancelled my auto renewal so my renewal runs out May 2. Now, today I get an email telling me my email address on my account was changed and that if I didn't request this change to contact Customer Service immediately. I sent an email and it was returned MAILER.DAEMON. I sent another one. Now my username and/or password have been changed so I cannot even get onto my account to remove it.

    Seems pretty funny that as it gets close to time for my membership to expire I am locked out of my account so whoever changed all of my information can easily click the renew subscription button (or whatever it said) and have it charged to my account. Good luck with that because I have already informed my bank and have a hold put on my debit card. If this site is truly concerned as they keep posting on here why don't they stop these things from happening? I can't help but believe that the site itself is somehow connected to these mysterious changes to my account. I will be talking to a lawyer about this if my problem is not resolved immediately. Enough is enough!
  • Avatar

    SBArthApril 19th, 2011

    Useless

    I had the same experience as others re never actually being able to go on site - wrong password etc ( I always use the same password). Has to be bogus. I am going to my bank and demanding a refund. I am so disappointed. I spent the last 15 years raising my kids and as the last leaves for college I was hoping to meet someone. Nothing worse that killing someone's hopes.
  • Avatar

    RobertFrancisApril 16th, 2011

    Below average

    A lot of outdated photos that make members look younger than they are, a lot of members who are not sincere in finding a permanent relationship, and biggest problem was too many members who made little or no effort to try and get to know you or let you get to know them. One woman invited me to travel over one thousand miles to meet for a cup of coffee on her first email. Not realistic. Another woman said all men are intimidated by her because she is so stunning and no matter where she goes, she is being stalked by members. Strange because they don't know her name or where she lives or works. Lot of people with a lot of problems. Some members refuse to post any basic info on their profile and only say, send me a message. I received messages from members who asked questions that were answered in my profile...many only look at the photos. Site reminds me of High School days with little maturity expected from seniors. Overall, few opportunities to find a serious a relationship.
  • Avatar

    JudithHopkinsMarch 30th, 2011

    Recommended

    I have been a member of seniorpeoplemeet before and can't seem to join again because I don't remember my info that is requested. I have sent my e-mail address several times trying to get the info that I submitted before but I have never heard from seniorpeoplemeet and I have no mail in my spam or bulk folders. Why is it that they don't send me the info I requested? What do I need to do? Please sent me an e-mail explaining.
    Avatar

    MaryConnersOctober 10th, 2011

    Useless

    Replied to JudithHopkins @Judith Hopkins I had the same thing occur... Tried to submit a question and never heard back from SPM, yet they advertize they will try to get back to you within 48hrs. Poorly managed site!
  • Avatar

    Shawn_3565March 29th, 2011

    Useless

    I signed up with the site for the same reason as everyone else but since I didn't have a picture that I wanted to use and all the gentlemen who contacted me requested a picture (they were probably from Ghana) I decided to cancel my subscription. Sure enough when I tried to log on my password was curiously not being accepted. I contacted the company and told them I wanted to cancel and they said I would have to cancel online and that they would send me a new password. Guess what? I never received a password and sent them 3 emails requesting one. I then contacted my credit card and am disputing the charge. If necessary I'll close out the credit card and get a new one issued to me with a new number. I believe that Match.com is a little more legit but I have a friend who was communicating with a scam artist from Ghana before she realized it. At least Match is credible but this site should be investigated and shut down.
  • Avatar

    msbgmsbgMarch 3rd, 2011

    Useless

    Similar to most comments they too took my original user ID, blocked it, refused to send me my password so I was forced to create a NEW user ID. I paid them $64 and received not much. Then they began to send me email's 32 to be exact belonging to my original user ID. When I tried to open them it took me to the payment option screen. Funny how you receive 32 email's under one profile and very little under the profile you actually paid for. I have been sending email's to their customer service dept for 5 days. In the end I told them I was reporting them to AMEX as fraud. They have now sent me a tel # to ring customer service. 1-866-727-8920

    MS
  • Avatar

    KarenpajakFebruary 9th, 2011

    Useless

    Michelle, thank you for the phone number. I too tried everywhere to get it and cannot find one but, I tried this number and it is not in service. If anyone out there knows what the number is I would appreciate you sending it. Thanks
    Avatar

    msbgmsbgMarch 3rd, 2011

    Useless

    Replied to Karenpajak @Karen pajak
    1.866.727.8920 cheers, MS.
    Avatar

    msbgmsbgMarch 8th, 2011

    Useless

    Replied to msbgmsbg @msbgmsbg
    Hi Karen,
    The number does respond and I did get my original User ID back.
    Good luck
    MS
  • Avatar

    SandraGuiceFebruary 3rd, 2011

    Useless

    This site is definitely a rip off...I have even gone so far as to request a refund but good luck on that, huh? Just a site for users and players. I joined on impulse and have regretted it ever since. Please don't make the same mistake I did...you could get the same promises this site offers for "free". Spread the word...innocent people are falling for this crap every day and this site's promises are not kept. Post your comments everywhere until someone checks into this scam. Seniorpeoplemeet=garbage. Hindsight is 20/20 but I wish i had used my money elsewhere. Help!
  • Avatar

    JoAnnMartinJanuary 31st, 2011

    Useless

    I'm with SeniorPeopleMeet for the express reason of friendship and possibly more. Ideally with an honest, down to earth individual seeking same.

    #1. We e-mailed for three months having fun and I thought) getting to know one another). He finally asked to meet me. We set everything up, time, phone, place, etc. and left me with egg on my face. Thank you very much.

    #2. "Poor widower" from Las Vegas. Sent pictures of son and self. Was "in love" me after 7 or 8 days. Said he was on his last business trip to S Africa with son, and then retiring. Never answered my questions. Finalization - he said he lost his wallet with $12,00 and credit card. Couldn't eat or live. Was lost - cry cry. Asked me for $3,500 and I said no can do. He then asked for $350 and cried again. I offered him a tissue.

    Where do these folks come from?
    Avatar

    Andrea_3547March 26th, 2011

    Useless

    Replied to JoAnnMartin @Jo Ann Martin I can offer you my story. I started out on Marriageminded which is an affiliate of Seniorpeoplemeet. I met a man who was from "NY" and was in W. Africa on a gold-buying trip for his own investment. Wasn't long till the request for money started. At first I fell for it but it was always something else. I have been watching these sites and I have found the same MO. These people are from Ghana. They are running a huge fraud scam. For me, they were using the name Samuel Clerk. What they do is either steal a person's identity, laptops, etc., to get information then they will use the picture of the person to post on websites. I have come across 3 so far. I have also found three Samuel Clerks on MySpace and interestingly, they all come from the same area, are all engineers and all in Ghana on business. I had one ask me to borrow money to get his tractor fixed as he was on a road crew with his business and needed to get it fixed. I asked for his driver's license for proof of who he is and he did send me one. I had it checked out by the local police and also looked at the address on the license. Surprise, surprise, the address was for a 2.5 million dollar house which is currently on the market and the police said it was probably a scam.

    You can usually tell if it their emails are from Ghana as the English will be very poor but be careful as there are translators out there that can translate into English. They will, however, slip up. You can also find the source of your email. Look on line and you can find out how to do it for your particular provider. Yahoo is probably the easiest. I had one tell me he was a friend of Samuel Clerk's and had money that he had asked him to send to me so I could in turn send to the "workers" to pay them but they couldn't find Samuel. He told me he was in Australia but when I traced the origin he was in fact in Ghana. I asked him and he said the computer was bought in Ghana but then he told me the name of the hotel in Australia where he was staying and low and behold, they never heard of him.

    I have decided to make it my goal to make sure that these guys are put away. So beware....
SeniorPeopleMeet 1.73 139 A review of SeniorPeopleMeet. This place is for mature people in their 50s, 60s and beyond who want to find companionship or romance later in life. The community is large, with around 481,000 active members.