Mate1
30 Ratings 3 / 5
Cost
Ease Of Use
Effectiveness
Members
Quick Facts
Cost 1 Month $49.95
Expensive
Popularity 240,000 active users
Average popularity
Gender make-up More men
(3 to 1)       
Better for women

Mate1 claims to be one of the most visited dating sites in the US, and to have around 20 Million registered users - however the number of active users is estimated at around 240,000. A trial membership is available at USD$ 1.95 for 3 days. It is better suited to people seeking casual dating rather than marriage or a long-term relationship.

One of the annoying things about Mate1, and source of common complaint is that it doesn't have an upgrade page. You will only find-out the cost of joining if you read the "fine-print" after selecting the 3-day trial which states that the trial will be extended to a full membership (costing $49.95 per 30-days) unless cancelled before the end of the 3 day period.

If you do opt for the free trial, be sure to put a reminder in your diary to cancel before the end unless you wish to extend it to a full month's membership.

Free Mode

It is possible to use the free access mode to view inside and decide whether an upgrade is worthwhile. New joiners can create a personal and voice profile complete with up to twenty photos. This allows them to personalize their profile and make it as detailed as they please. Once this step is finished, it's possible to browse around and get in touch with others using e-flirts, or for full members using the site's email or chat features. If a match works out, a member can place the person on their Hot List. If not, they can stick them on their Block List.

Finding People

Mate1 follows an easy to navigate format and a range of ways to find and get in touch with others.

As well as a basic search facility, a number of useful options are provided that allow you to browse profiles by country, city, keyword or nickname. There are also options for body type, work and education and lifestyle. There's also a "Matches" button, but this only displays a search based on your location and the gender you are seeking.

"Interested in me" is freely accessible and will show you who has flirted with you in the past or who has been auto-matched with you (against your personality and interests). Those who've upgraded also have the possibility to see who's viewed their profiles.

The site does display advertisements and some of these are adult in content - upgrading allows the site to be viewed free of ads.

In Summary

Mate1 is a big site - you shouldn't have too much trouble finding friends, or even romance and love. It does tend to be more suited to people looking for causal encounters rather than relationships. The lack of a clear pricing page does count against the site in my opinion.

By Tara Miller

The good

  • Big site, with active community
  • Nice chat and messaging features, plus voice intros
  • Handy advanced search

The bad

  • Only upgrade option is a 3-day trial which extends to full membership unless cancelled
  • Declining user base
  • Free access mode is too limited
  • A lot of ads
Rating from 30 customers

5 Star: (12)

4 Star: (1)

3 Star: (4)

2 Star: (3)

1 Star: (8)

Total 30 Ratings
2 Reviews
28 Comments
Rss Feeds. Subscribe to comments for this site. [?] Receive updates about Mate1.com directly through your newsreader.
  • Avatar

    fuckyouFebruary 18th, 2014

    Avoid

    its a suckey site, most are fake women , I got 10 emails within 5 minutes of signing up, and thats with out paying for a memebership, I bet once they got my money the emails would disappear,

    fake
    fake
    fake
  • Avatar

    blacktail2012December 10th, 2012

    Useless

    I tried mate 1 for 20 days, all l really are meeting are guys from Brasil. I live in in America....so to me it's a joke !!
  • Avatar

    nimrod6004July 16th, 2012

    Useless

    This dating site is full of scammers. The first 6 or 7 comments I read on here sum things up well. Southeast Asia, Africa, Russia, the list is virtually endless. I think 4 out of every 5 (or greater) female profiles are bogus. I also noticed that when I first set up my profile, within about 24 hours I had something like 30 "messages" in my inbox. I had to "buy in" for a month just to see what was going on. Appeared to me like most of these were bogus.

    Some of the warning signs I've seen include (but are not limited to): (1) Bad English...many "profiles" are in broken or poorly worded English. (2) Grainy pictures. Obvious sign of re-scanned photos, taken from where, who knows. Hustler for all I know. (3) Posting private email addresses in their profile. A lot of yahoo addresses. I suppose this is to get you out from under the auspices of Mate1. (4) Some women don't even know who they are or where they're from. One example, a woman ID'd herself as "Karen" on the site, then in a correspondence said her name was Lucy from minnesota. No capital "M". Typical African spelling disorder. Another woman had North Carolina listed in her heading, and then in her personal narrative said she lived in CA. More likely, she (or he) lives in Lagos, Nigeria.
  • Avatar

    iam51504u2004June 10th, 2012

    Avoid

    Bull**** site ...the ladies are out for blood or money, lots and lots of spam; don't use this site, trust me! They will lead you on for days, on how they want that first date, they well even say they live in your town, then one day you look at their profile and they live in Finland or Germany. It's so f%@king stupid or mate 1 has removed them from other complaints.
  • Avatar

    JayVisvadevaMay 28th, 2012

    Below average

    I regret to say that I have had a very bad experience with girls and women from West Africa/ South Africa, but mainly from Ghana and Nigeria. Instead of making genuine friends, these women are dishonest and out for the kill for the unsuspected.

    The usual line follows that their parents have been killed in car accident, and they have no one and are working as a volunteers in church and then sob story after sob story. They claim to be unmarried, with no kids...and use some of the most sugar coated language and most of what is said is really lies and nothing else.

    Once the woman takes interest in you, they suggest that the person joins YAHOO.COM and YAHOO MESSENGER. I have received same pictures from two separate women. Can you please explain how you are going tackle this issue?
  • Avatar

    josepaganMay 1st, 2012

    Just average

    I tried mate 1 for 27 days all you really are meeting are girls who live in Ghana west Africa, Nigeria or Malaysia with a bunch of problems ready to scam you if you're stupid, this has to finish, you make contact with a girl she sends you the same pictures for 3 different emails, and the girls look like models all the time to be true, don't send no money you'll loose it.
    Avatar

    mate1_supportJune 18th, 2012

    Recommended

    Replied to josepagan We're always very sorry to hear about our members being taken advantage of through our service. Mate1.com is committed to fight fraud and offers its members several avenues for reporting instances of fraud, including 7-day-a-week toll-free phone. Many similar sites offer only limited support options, some lacking even a phone number to get in touch with their staff. We're even open for most holidays, and we post specific holiday hours directly on our Contact Us page when we're not. Moderator: "Removed repeated links and telephone numbers."
  • Avatar

    mate1sucksMarch 7th, 2012

    Useless

    "Mate1.com is committed to finding a solution for its members and offers some of the best Customer Support available in the online dating industry" you know you're so full of ****. Why not charge women too so con-artists and cam-girls won't overwhelm the place? Chat requests from women from Russia, Philippe so many from south east Asia, why? Either this site is a scam or it's free so it attracts cons.
    Avatar

    Mate1Support_4985March 15th, 2012

    Recommended

    Replied to mate1sucks @ @mate1sucks

    We appreciate your suggestions and input in helping us with our ongoing efforts to improve the site for our members.

    We have a dedicated team of anti-fraud agents, who work around the clock to remove the types of fraudulent profiles you mention, but it is a constant, ongoing battle and we appreciate all your help and patience in assisting us in weeding out these undesirable elements.

    As always, the best way to get support about this or any other issue is to contact us directly, using the methods in our previous post below, and we'll be glad to assist you in any way possible to make your Mate1 experience as pleasurable as we can.
  • Avatar

    chris88008January 11th, 2012

    Useless

    Too deceptive, should disclose pricing upfront, none of this "three day trial" nonsense.

    Was disturbed that I was getting chat request from women in their 20s and not in the same country. Also don't understand why they'd charge guys $50 and ladies are free. Too many completely obvious fake/inactive profiles and constant requests to sign up, even after I cancelled and told them to stop sending me email.

    Don't waste your time or money guys. Girls, you're free so have all the fun you want.
  • Avatar

    AdrianDiBenedettoJanuary 3rd, 2012

    Useless

    This site has been a real let down, I canceled my 3 day $1.95 trial & was charged $49.95. I am presently disputing this, I should have researched this site online first & I would have seen all the complaints. It is full of spammers and scammers, it is twice as much as other sites but offers much less. A big joke! Don't waste your money!
    Avatar

    mate1_supportJune 18th, 2012

    Recommended

    Replied to AdrianDiBenedetto We're sorry to hear about any disagreements or issues with our services. Mate1.com is committed to finding a solution for its members and offers some of the best Customer Support available in the online dating industry, including 7-day-a-week toll-free phone support (1-888-688-4760, or 514 907-0015 if you are outside North America), round-the-clock email support from our help page - http://www.mate1.com/nw/faq - as well as a live chat support feature available during normal business hours. Many similar sites offer only limited support options, some lacking even a phone number to get in touch with their staff. We're even open for most holidays, and we post specific holiday hours directly on our Contact Us page when we're not.

    Please get in touch with our Customer Support team regarding any issues you are experiencing, or any technical difficulties you have encountered and we'll be happy to try and resolve them with you. That's what we're here for!

    For additional options, please access our Help/Contact Us page from within your account itself after logging in, which you can do from this link:

    http://www.mate1.com/nw/login
  • Avatar

    Mate1SupportDecember 6th, 2011

    Just average

    This is just a friendly reminder that anyone who is having issues with Mate1.com should feel free to get in touch with us. Mate1.com is committed to finding a solution for its members and offers some of the best Customer Support available in the online dating industry, including 7-day-a-week toll-free phone support(1-888-688-4760, or 514 907-0015 if you are outside North America), round-the-clock email support - support@mate1.com, as well as a live chat support feature available during normal business hours. Many similar sites offer only limited support options, some lacking even a phone number to get in touch with their staff. We're even open for most holidays, and we post specific holiday hours directly on our Contact Us page when we're not.

    Please get in touch with our Customer Support team regarding any issues you are experiencing, or any technical difficulties you have encountered and we'll be happy to try and resolve them with you. That's what we're here for!

    For your convenience, here is a direct link to our site's Help/Contact Us page, which contains most of our contact options.

    http://www.mate1.com/nw/faq

    For additional options, please access our Help/Contact Us page from within your account itself after logging in, which you can do from this link:

    http://www.mate1.com/nw/login
Mate1 3 30 A review of Mate1. Mate1 claims to be one of the most visited dating sites in the US, and to have around 20 Million registered users - however the number of active users is estimated at around 240,000. A trial membership is available at USD$ 1.