close
t Geek 2 Geek
81 Ratings 1.3 / 5
Cost
Ease Of Use
Effectiveness
Members
Quick Facts
Cost 1 Month $14.99
Very cheap
Popularity 36,000 active users
Very low
Gender make-up More men
(2 to 1)       
Better for women
Rating from 81 customers

5 Star: (9)

4 Star: (0)

3 Star: (3)

2 Star: (6)

1 Star: (42)

Total 81 Ratings
14 Reviews
67 Comments
Rss Feeds. Subscribe to comments for this site. [?] Receive updates about Gk2gk.com directly through your newsreader.
  • Avatar

    LawrenceFebruary 10th, 2010

    Useless

    Single geeks welcome! Try my site - BrainiacDating.com. It's completely free and has gained just over 15,000 members since Oct 2008 when I started it. So admittedly it's still small compared to the well known sites, but it's free, and growing fast.
  • Avatar

    batmanFebruary 3rd, 2010

    Useless

    What a horrific waste of my time. I was on there for 2 months as a free member. First off they do not give you accurate matches, the age groups are way off. My age limit was 25-35, I was getting 18-56 year olds. Sorry but I'm fairly certain that a 56 year old woman isn't going to be my "Ideal Match". When I did find someone I liked, I could only "wink" at them, no messages. You aren't allowed to message if you don't pay. My main issue with the site is that they censor you, so if you complain about their site they cut that out, if you use the same username on a free site they change your name.
  • Avatar

    DougNovember 27th, 2009

    Useless

    Beware!!! Reoccurring charges are a default condition for signing up. My credit card was charged after a period of unuse, I cancelled my account within hours of the charge and was unable to deny service. I plan on making a complaint to the Better Business Bureau, as I think this practice is unfair. I also found customer service to be non-user friendly and only available through email.
  • Avatar

    KaitoOctober 2nd, 2009

    Useless

    Lovely idea, but the execution is absolutely horrendous. You can't message anybody with a free account, which basically stops you from doing anything or contacting anyone. So basically this site sucks.
  • Avatar

    Mike_1371September 19th, 2009

    Useless

    I also got ripped off by these people i signed up for 6 months and set it to not auto renew. I stopped using the site two months and stopped due to the low amount of people using the site. I got a charge on my credit card for another 6 months. They will not refund it.
    Avatar

    DonBrooksNovember 11th, 2009

    Recommended

    Replied to Mike_1371 @Mike I found my match here; we're getting married next Feb. It's a great idea, and, while it's a pay site, what's $20 when you figure a date is gonna cost a lot more, even if you just go to a movie and get a snack after (which is what I did). As to the auto-renew, I un-checked the box and it worked fine. I have them to thank for what I hope is a lifetime of happiness. Thanks to them.
    Avatar

    LiarLiarMarch 17th, 2010

    Useless

    Replied to DonBrooks @Don Brooks Liar Liar Mr. Don Brooks. You are the site owner of Gk2gk. You have falsely inflated your member numbers. Just looks at the freakish increase in membership in the last 12 months with no press of real internet chatter to account for it. Real geeks can smell fake. I can't believe you continued to charge my credit card after I cancelled it three times. I reported Gk2gk to the BBB.

    Signed,
    Daddy Dater
    Avatar

    DonBrooksMarch 21st, 2010

    Recommended

    Replied to LiarLiar @Liar Liar Well, that's a new one. I wish I did own it. But I don't. Really. And as to its growth, I don't know, other than that they advertise a lot on Google, maybe Google works (or do you think that's a scam too?) And, I guess Alexa and Compete.com are complicit in it as well.

    There's a big difference between pay dating sites and free ones. Basically you get what you pay for. I found my match on Geek 2 Geek.

    As to the practice of automatically renewing, they're doing exactly the same as what Match.com and all the other pay sites do. Match.com even goes one further. They get you to sign up for a "Free trial" membership, all you have to do is give them your credit card info. If you look closely, though, unless you send them a hard copy letter canceling your free membership in the next two days, they charge your credit card on the third day.
    Avatar

    Knightswhosay_1905March 23rd, 2010

    Useless

    Replied to DonBrooks @Don Brooks Just for grins I googled Don Brooks and gk2gk. Don Brooks led to Donnybrook89. All tied back to gk2gk and then directly to Spencer Koppel. The site owner according to whois. Dirtbag.
  • Avatar

    LindaAugust 17th, 2009

    Useless

    Yes you are right I was ripped off by them. I tried it for a month. They do not have a very large base. But the worst was that they charged my credit card after I cancelled my subscription even though I cancelled prior to the renewal date. They're refusing to reverse the charges. Watch out for these fly by night sites and your credit cards.
  • Avatar

    DissapointedJuly 31st, 2009

    Useless

    Not worth it, really. Maybe it's just me, but I think it's expensive. For a silver membership the prices are:

    (1 month) $19.99
    (3 months) $44.99
    (6 months) $79.99

    And without buying a silver or gold account, having a profile is useless because you can't contact anyone. They heavily moderate all you place in your profile so as to police it to stop information that could allow you to talk to members from being published. A great idea, yes, but not worth the cost.
  • Avatar

    Gk2GkEnthusiastJuly 17th, 2009

    Recommended

    After being a member of the site for just a couple of weeks, I found the guy of my dreams. Well, actually, he surpassed anything I could ever dream of. After almost three months together, I am crazy happy and have found the person I want to be with for all time. I would recommend the site to anyone that is looking for someone that appreciates geekery and its subsidiaries.
  • Avatar

    NottellingJuly 11th, 2009

    Useless

    This site sucks, first they charge too much for crap service. The matches suck and when you put in 25-30, they give you 40 yr olds. They are all about the money and couldn't care less about you finding fun people. If you get a free profile its fine but you will never get past winking which sucks. They like to delete anything they want. Any complainers get deleted. Save money and stay on the free site, but it still isn't worth wasting the time for.
Geek 2 Geek 1.3 81 A review of Geek 2 Geek - gk2gk.com. Geek 2 Geek brings geeks, nerds and their admirers together with a safe, friendly, and easy to use site. Geek 2 Geek uses a matching system designed specifically by and about geeks.