Geek 2 Geek
58 Ratings 1.58 / 5
Cost
Ease Of Use
Effectiveness
Members
Quick Facts
Cost 1 Month $14.99
Very cheap
Popularity 36,000 active users
Very low
Gender make-up More men
(2 to 1)       
Better for women

Geek 2 Geek brings geeks, nerds and their admirers together with a safe, friendly, and easy to use site. Geek 2 Geek uses a matching system designed specifically by and about geeks. Geeks should not be alone, so if you are a bit of a geek or a fan, this site could be worth a look.

Geeks rejoice! Gk2gk.com is one of the leading (actually one of the only) online dating sites dedicated to bringing self-described geeks, nerds, and similar persons together for all kinds of relationships.

It provides a romantic connection and meeting service for those interested in finding friendships, buddies, dating relationships, and serious relationship. Because there are so many types of relationships possible on this site it's important to be specific about what it is you're looking for in order to get the best possible matches.

Basic free access gives you the following:

  • Create a full photo profile
  • View other people's profiles in full
  • Create a favorites list
  • View private photos
  • Send out friend requests

The format is pretty user-friendly, and all of the options I tried were easy to use. This might seem counter-intuitive since its target is those who are typically quite computer literate, but the bottom line is that an easy to use interface is going to be more popular and active.

Upgrading: Gk2gk.com also offers useful search tools to help members and users connect with each other, although like other paid sites the most comprehensive features are available only to paid Silver members. Basic membership is free on Gk2gk.com, allowing you to search profiles and send winks to others.

By Tara Miller

Rating from 58 customers

5 Star: (8)

4 Star: (0)

3 Star: (2)

2 Star: (3)

1 Star: (40)

Total 58 Ratings
9 Reviews
49 Comments
Rss Feeds. Subscribe to comments for this site. [?] Receive updates about Gk2gk.com directly through your newsreader.
  • Avatar

    GeekyGirlFebruary 16th, 2014

    Avoid

    I decided to try the free subscription. In less than 48 hours, I was deleted. They even deleted my picture since they don't approve it is me...I am a geek and I didn't know you can write codes to validate a picture if there is no other picture to validate it with. What a joke!!! Probably just trying to make space for paying customers.
  • Avatar

    felipetenorJuly 15th, 2012

    Useless

    So, yeah, i was another one of the countless people that this website scammed... I'm waiting for paypal to contact me since i managed to block the payment in time... their offices should be set on fire!
  • Avatar

    thecatman1984June 26th, 2012

    Avoid

    geek2 geek is a rip off they cut off my membership early and did not refund me my money!! what the ****??
  • Avatar

    ShinigamiFebruary 27th, 2012

    Useless

    This is pathetic that these obviously bad writers come on here and try to sound like a normal person giving good ratings, first of all who even talks in manner you 5 star givers are speaking.... and I just filled out a profile for it and it says there's a free silver and gold but it doesn't let you continue unless you submit a credit card... yea no thank you, I hope there's a lawsuit of some sort brought up against gk2gk.
  • Avatar

    AnonymousFormerGk2gkNovember 27th, 2011

    Useless

    At first I was really stoked that a website like this existed, I went ahead and subscribed for a month. There was like 10-20 girls near me. I messaged, sent message after message - I didn't hear back from almost anyone and most profiles hadn't been logged in over a month. I couldn't see profile login date data without being a subscribed member.

    I have better luck on myyearbook than this site. Shame on gk2gk, if their gona offer a tiny userbase they should offer lower prices.
  • Avatar

    TidoshoSeptember 13th, 2011

    Useless

    This site is a con. I'm in the UK, and all members in the UK must just sign up and forget their accounts, because every member profile says "online in last 1-6 months". Why would anyone pay to join a site where the members never log in? It also seems to want to tell me 2matches" are 4,000 miles away in the US? What about finding me local geek goddesses???

    I found this review site through Google. Spencer Koppel, quit trying to cover your ass with your one-post damage limitation crap and fake nicknames, we know who you are, so quit while you're not ahead. There's too many sites that are utter fake like this that prey on innocent single guys and/or people just looking for friends.
  • Avatar

    mrcatSeptember 9th, 2011

    Useless

    Every time i signup with that site i find my account is deleted the next day. What is happening? I didn't post anything that's against the rules. May be my pic was too ugly? I don't think writing about myself that I'm a nice guy is bad. I had hope for the site... but they failed me.
  • Avatar

    fullmetal_gamerJuly 13th, 2011

    Useless

    Geek 2 Geek fraudulently charged my credit card claiming I signed up for auto draft when I did not. Now they are being jerks about the refund.
  • Avatar

    SpencerKoppelJuly 13th, 2011

    Recommended

    I am Spencer Koppel, the owner of Geek 2 Geek. Our mission is to provide a means by which geeks and people who want to meet geeks can find each other. We have over 200,000 members, mostly in the United States, but also Canada, the UK, Australia, and New Zealand. A free membership is available, offering people the opportunity to look around and see if there are any members who are of interest to them. They can even "wink" at other members and/or designate them as "favorites" to see if there is mutual interest before making a commitment to pay for further communication.

    We make every effort to screen out "spammers" through our review process, but a very small proportion get through - when we find them, we delete them immediately.

    It is absolutely true that we charge a fee, in the form of a subscription in order for members to communicate with each other beyond "winks", and that we do not provide refunds of subscriptions. That is our policy after we carefully considered the alternatives. Also, the premium membership is clearly labeled a "subscription" which by definition implies recurring payments.

    This subscription model has indeed resulted in complaints to the Better Business Bureau. Each such complaint has been addressed by me personally, however, it hasn't been possible in all cases to satisfy each customer.

    We've had many success stories, happy couples, weddings, and even children subsequently born as a result of members finding each other on Geek 2 Geek. Of course, not everybody has had success. We are constantly trying to improve the site to increase that success rate.

    P.S. I apologize for including my own 5 star rating, but rating is required and I could hardly rate it any lower, could I?
    Avatar

    felipetenorJuly 15th, 2012

    Avoid

    Replied to SpencerKoppel "We make every effort to screen out "spammers" - Amazing statement coming from a SCAMMER that's even worst!
  • Avatar

    EmelyApril 30th, 2011

    Recommended

    While I do understand the negative comments, and would never in my life give away my cc number to this site, I have. Found some amazing people to talk to since being a free member I can contact the gold members. There I have found one specific wonderful guy, after talking a bit we met and are in a great relationship today. Maybe some people are just lucky. But don't judge before you have tried yourself, as long as you keep from giving away your credit card number.
    Avatar

    ChazMarch 12th, 2012

    Useless

    Replied to Emely @Emely This is Spencer Koppel under a mule account.
Geek 2 Geek 1.58 58 A review of Geek 2 Geek - gk2gk.com. Geek 2 Geek brings geeks, nerds and their admirers together with a safe, friendly, and easy to use site. Geek 2 Geek uses a matching system designed specifically by and about geeks.