BookofMatches
Free
10 Ratings 2.3 / 5
Cost
Ease Of Use
Effectiveness
Members
Quick Facts
Cost Free
Popularity 24,000 active users
Very low
Gender make-up More men
(4 to 1)       
Better for women

Book of Matches offers a free dating experience. The site has an active user community which is comprised mainly of North Americans. It includes a host of features such as real-time web chat, member rating, and personality tests.

Everything in Book of Matches is free of charge, including emailing, sending flirts, uploading photos and videos and participating in the user forums. There are no premium features or paying accounts meaning everyone gets the same basic membership plan.

Though BoM represents singles in the United States, it does have members from England, Canada and Australia, as well as other parts of the world. There are around 24,000 active users, with several hundred online at any given time.

Getting Started

You can begin a search without signing up. You will get a brief listing of singles available in the city and state you choose. When you do create your own profile, it is free. The site claims it only takes 30 seconds to make your own profile.

After you have created a profile, your search should return responses that are more accurate. Each user has the ability to add options describing themselves, add a picture and explain what they are looking for in detail in their own words.

Communicating

Once you find a match, communicating with them is supposed to be free via email and messaging. However, there are a lot of ads and banner messages advertising other sites, detracting from the profile you are looking at.

BoM does offer some fun personality tests, but not true compatibility tests. They also alert you to who is online now and what type of relationship the person is seeking. When you sign up, you can also access the chat rooms and participate in discussions that are un-moderated.

In Brief

Book of Matches is a decent free site with a good selection of features and an active user community. They offer a few articles with dating tips, both for men and women. There aren't any specials since they offer free registration and free contacting of members.

The main drawback is that the pool of active users is on the low side compared to say OkCupid or PoF.com meaning there's less choice available and potentially further to travel if you meet someone.

By Tara Miller

Rating from 10 customers

5 Star: (1)

4 Star: (3)

3 Star: (0)

2 Star: (1)

1 Star: (4)

Total 10 Ratings
0 Reviews
10 Comments
Rss Feeds. Subscribe to comments for this site. [?] Receive updates about Bookofmatches.com directly through your newsreader.
  • Avatar

    horny59maleJuly 25th, 2012

    Avoid

    I have been a member of Book Of Matches for 2 weeks and everytime I try to log back in to my account it keeps telling me no user name found.
  • Avatar

    northstationApril 5th, 2012

    Useless

    I have a real problem with the Bookofmatches site. I haven't been able to send any messges.
    Avatar

    bonnie_5137May 21st, 2012

    Useless

    Replied to northstation @northstation I would like to know an email where i can get hold of book of matches or even a phone number 2 times I've been kicked off here and i know it's an ex that i dated on here having it done i have followed all the rules reach me at energizer_bunny352002@yahoo.com.
  • Avatar

    101stguyMarch 28th, 2012

    Useless

    Joined up right after I got back from deployment in Afghanistan, but had no success in meeting someone worth my time. Had a couple of cam girls and scammer hit me up, and one beautiful woman I talked to for a day, and that was it. I figure that maybe I might not be attractive to some of the gals, or because of my ethnicity, but whatever. All I am really looking for is the make some friends to hang out and see where it leads, but BOM seems to be more of a waste of time more than anything.
  • Avatar

    sandra1126December 6th, 2011

    Above average

    Hi, i am looking to date and have friends i am a lot of fun and friendly.
  • Avatar

    EarlWarnerSeptember 22nd, 2011

    Useless

    I am a member on bom and have been for a couple years. i have done everything that's required such as created profile, uploaded pictures, everything. Send out messages quite often to woman i would be interested in but i am pretty unhappy with the site because the woman on here never reply. I quit using the site for a long time because of this, the woman on bom claim they are there to meet someone, but when you try to contact them they never reply. It is becoming a waste of my time. i need a site where the woman are really looking to meet someone and actually reply to messages.
  • Avatar

    irritatedJune 21st, 2010

    Below average

    Been on this site for 2weeks now, So far only a couple cons trying to lure me. I made one friend talked to her once and that was it. See her online but she never says anything. Was approached by another lady who lives far away that wanted to be my friend but she never invited me. Talked for a day and again nothing much came out of it. Both chats had been friendly. So two weird situations.

    Besides that there is hardly anyone near me that is active which makes me think my time spent on BoM will be short lived.

    Besides that the site offers a lot of good features from chat, forums, games. The site has potential but for whatever reason fails to lure in quality clients.
  • Avatar

    geraldMay 18th, 2010

    Above average

    I am a 26yr old male lookin for friendship or more just depends...
  • Avatar

    shellySeptember 10th, 2009

    Above average

    I love this site but my account gets deleted all the time and I never do anything but have fun on it. I don't know why I get deleted. My friend list slowly disappears and my shoutouts, then boom I'm out.
  • Avatar

    KarenGravesFebruary 21st, 2009

    Recommended

    I'm a member of boM and absolute adore the site! I have met many personalities and wonderful people that truly have become great friends. I am seeking more than friendship, but I feel that with this website, it's a true possibility. Nothing but wonderful comments about Bookofmatches! Thegenuinegem ~ Member of boM.
BookofMatches 2.3 10 A review of BookofMatches. Book of Matches offers a free dating experience. The site has an active user community which is comprised mainly of North Americans.