close
t BlackPeopleMeet
40 Ratings 2.02 / 5
Cost
Ease Of Use
Effectiveness
Members
Quick Facts
Cost 1 Month $13.99
Very cheap
Popularity 349,000 active users
Average popularity
Gender make-up More men
(2 to 1)       
Better for women
Rating from 40 customers

5 Star: (5)

4 Star: (0)

3 Star: (6)

2 Star: (13)

1 Star: (13)

Total 40 Ratings
4 Reviews
36 Comments
Rss Feeds. Subscribe to comments for this site. [?] Receive updates about Blackpeoplemeet.com directly through your newsreader.
  • Avatar

    Jessica_2594September 7th, 2010

    Below average

    I have been on Blackpeoplemeet.com for a while for over a year off and on. What I do, I make sure I put in my profile that if someone is interested in communicating with me to send Personal Messages only. That way it helps to filter through that fakeness and the manipulation of the website. I also add to it by saying that if you are truly interested in me but I may not be able to read your message, Bookmark me or FAV me so I can communicate at when I can. Then during my inactive times, I let my account build up with viewers that have Personal Messaged me, then I upgrade. This is how I use this site to my advantage. Through the initial conversation I either invite them to IM me or call me depending on the vibe I get. My experience has been more successful this way. The friendships I make don't last very long due to the men just being plain sorry, or they lied about their relationship status, or it just faded out. For whatever reason, I never get a Personal Message from anyone first, I always have to make the first contact. So just imagine if this was for everyone??? No one gets Personal Messages but you have to search and initiate first. I like my experiences on Tagged.com far better than BPM or Plentyoffish or Match.com. You don't pay any money on Tagged and I still have guy friends that I talk to on the phone and who sometimes come and visit me. I am MORE satisfied there than anywhere else. BPM users use my technique and wait for the Personal Messages and see how much traffic you get or the lack there of from real people to make contact with. At the end of the day......I really do believe that ALL paid dating websites are manipulated to keep you single to make more money. I don't know how, I just feel it.
  • Avatar

    wtg2xhleAugust 29th, 2010

    Useless

    This site is a joke. People pretend.. let me rephrase that... Men pretend they are interested with their flirts and nonsensical messages. When you call a brother out and give him a # or he gives you his...you find out just how full of crap people on here are. I tried it for a year. Laid off for 8 mos. or so and signed back on for 1 mo. to see if maybe I was being too cynical or judgemental. But, nope...I was right. Most men on here are F.O.S.! Tell me...why would people pay money to make an ass of them self or someone else???? Oh. i know why.....BECAUSE>>>THEY>>>CAN>>>> ! My advice......Save Your Cash ladies !!!!!!!!
  • Avatar

    Jackie_2509August 18th, 2010

    Useless

    Signed up on this website for 6 months. My account was screwed up and i never got the benefit of using the six month membership. Even after numerous attempts and messages they could not seem to straighten out my account, yet they had no problem billing my charge account. The few men that i did get to meet were not really seeking a true relationship. It's easy to charge the service to your account but you catch hell trying to get someone to help you out. Kept getting the run around after doing everything i was asked to do to get the situation fixed. Still to this day not resolved. What a waste.
    Avatar

    Lisa_2523August 22nd, 2010

    Recommended

    Replied to Jackie_2509 @Jackie We appreciate your comments and want you to know we are always looking for input from our members. The only way our fraud specialists can help is if members report fraud directly to us. If you see any suspicious activity or falsified profiles, please report them immediately via the "Report a Concern" button on every profile and/or your inbox. If you need help straightening out your account, please contact us here. Thank you, Lisa from BlackPeopleMeet.com
  • Avatar

    Mel_2387July 22nd, 2010

    Useless

    Blackpeople meet is a scam...you could put in your zip code and they intentionally only show your profile to people out of state. However if you go into the search field there are plenty of possible matches in your area but somehow they have it set up to where they can not see it. Yes the men on the site have been on there for years and those are the one's who are looking for sex, you have to be smarter than them. Never had any problems with billing, but the men on the site are sub-standard and unfortunately don't know what they want. You won't know that until you start talking to them.
  • Avatar

    redJune 4th, 2010

    Useless

    Black people meet is the worse site ever, many men on the site are only after one thing and one thing only. Most of the men are married but hide behind never been married at all. Pleanty of fake profiles on the site etc. i wish i had read the reviews of this site because i wasted my money on trash.
  • Avatar

    tMay 28th, 2010

    Useless

    This site is terrible you get hundreds of responses but no quality. People send flirts or bookmark your profile and no conversation follows honestly how does that produce a connection? I am not sure what quality the men are getting but on the women side it's crap. I only tried it for a month cause I was just curious but never again. I should have read the reviews first but I heard so much about it on the Steve Harvey show that I thought it would be a good site.
  • Avatar

    AlliMarch 1st, 2010

    Useless

    There are a lot of scammers. I had a guy steal my credit card #'s and use it to renew the site. It happens so often that they have an automated form where you type in your number and it pulls up who used your card. The company didn't want to reverse the charge. They said to get it from the guy because i know him. They should not be taking 3rd party payments. And there are a lot of guys just playing around. I don't recommend at all.
BlackPeopleMeet 2.02 40 A review of BlackPeopleMeet. BlackPeopleMeet.com is dating site for black singles or for people who want to meet someone who is black. They provide live chat, email, match suggestions, and a dating magazine. You'll need full membership to access email.